We couldn't keep up without you, a salute to excellent journalism

 //  Apr 17, 2014

We couldn't keep up without you, a salute to excellent journalism

Each and every day the first thing I do in the morning that requires my brain is to look at the daily headlines. All over the world things are happening and how would we know about them without journalists? Our first amendment and respect for the power of knowledge is something that keeps America precious. Over the past week, excellence in journalism has been honored through the Pulitzer Prize and for the education reporters of today, through the Education Writers Association (EWA).

A look at the list of winners from both organizations is not only to see examples of stellar work but it is also an interesting way to look at the past year in review. The Boston Globe Staff was recognized for their exemplary work during a tragedy as they covered the Boston Marathon bombings. In education, Philadelphia Public School Notebook and WHYY/NewsWorks coverage of the local school closings received a first prize honor from EWA.

Congratulations to all of the dedicated professionals who were honored over the past week. Many of whom took extraordinary efforts to tell their story. A few other highlights are:

From the Pulitzer Prize list The Guardian US and Washington Post both were honored for their public service reporting on NSA surveillance, Chris Hamby of the Center for Public Integrity for investigative reporting, Eli Saslow of the Washington Post for explanatory reporting, Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia of the Tampa Bay Times for local reporting, David Philipps of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, CO, for national reporting, and Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters. Make sure to check out the full list which also includes photography, commentary and cartooning here.

First Prizes in the 2013 National Awards for Education Reporting from EWA, which separated newsrooms by size, include Sara Neufeld of the Hechinger Report; Alia Wong of the Honolulu Civil Beat; David DesRoches of the Darien Times; Jane Stancill of The News & Observer of Raleigh, N.C.; Vanessa de la Torre and Matthew Kauffman of The Hartford Courant; Liz Bowie of The Baltimore Sun; Denise-Marie Ordway of the Orlando Sentinel; and Dan Mihalopoulos of the Chicago Sun-Times. In broadcast, First Prizes went to John Merrow, Jane Renauf, David Wald and Jessica Windt of Learning Matters; Jenny Brundin of Colorado Public Radio; and the full team behind “This American Life: Harper High School” hosted by Ira Glass, A full list can be found here.

Be sure to read, view or listen to these award-winning pieces.

Photo via Kelly B.